In my recent posts I’ve played with Euler problem 2 and hylomorphism: here I use the hylomorphism concept to solve the Euler problem 2 using Ocaml 🙂

(* Given a hylomorphism implementation ...*)
let rec hylo_impl step till col inj v s =
    if till s
    then v
    else
        let ns = step s in
        let nv = inj (col s) v in
        hylo_impl step till col inj nv ns
;;

(* ... solving Euler problem 2 is quite easy! *)
let eul2 n =
    hylo_impl
        (fun (n0, n1) -> (n1, n0 + n1))
        (fun (n0, n1) -> n0 > n)
        (fun (n0, n1) -> if n0 mod 2 == 0 then n0 else 0)
        (fun x a -> x + a)
        0
        (1, 1)
;;

This time I tried to add default value with labels notation of Ocaml. But I have a problem with type inference: if the given default function has a type, all function I pass as parameter must have the same type as the default one … still have to learn a bit more about polymorphism in ocaml I presume ;). The following code may work in some case, but it forces the type of the functions, which is really bad! Any advice to solve this problem?

let hylo
        ?(step = fun x -> x + 1)
        ?(till = fun x -> true)
        ?(col = fun x -> x)
        ?(inj = ((fun x a -> x :: a), []))
        s
    =
    let (injf, injv) = inj in
    hylo_impl step till col injf injv s
;;
